Fall into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Richelle Leigh Walk

Fine jeweler and chapter member Richelle Leigh Walk is center stage in this edition of Artisan Spotlight. This will be Richelle’s first time exhibiting at Fall into Fine Craft and we are delighted!

Walk-Richelle Leigh1

What about your medium drew you to it initially and what’s kept you working at it?

I was lucky enough to have a five year working apprenticeship under a goldsmith, gemologist and jewelry store owner. I started working under him while in high school. I was hooked on the first day wanting to learn more and soaking up as much as I could. At first I was drawn to just working with my hands and satisfied with having created a finished piece of jewelry. As my metalsmithing skills improved I started working with gemstones and learning more about them through GIA.

Walk-Richelle Leigh4

I love gemstones! A lot. From the first year of jewelry making and still today. I use gemstones as a focus in my work by designing around them and using different color combinations. I have been making jewelry since 1997 and it still hasn’t gotten old for me. There is always something new to learn, different things to try at the bench and ways to change things up in business.

Walk-Richelle Leigh3

If you had to choose a medium, other than your current one, what would you like to try and why?

I have dabbled in polymer clay and lamp worked glass for fun. Because I also love color.

Walk-Richelle Leigh2

What are you most looking forward to at FIFC?

I’m looking forward to seeing the variety of work from my chapter. It has always been fun to exhibit with this group and learn about all of their different fine craft mediums.  I’m sure each artist will capture their unique personality inside their booth space with displays and their beautiful creations. I’m excited to set up my own space and show what I’ve been creating.

We’re looking forward to seeing you, Richelle, and all the rest of our fine chapter members and juried guest artisans, at Fall into Fine Craft!  To pique your interest, even more, follow Richelle on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Richelle-Leigh-Collection-129706323731945/timeline/ and peruse her website http://www.rlcollection.com/.

Follow Fall into Fine Craft on Facebook, too, at https://www.facebook.com/FallintoFineCraft2015?fref=ts.

Leave a Reply

