Fall into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Elaine Haag

Elaine Haag, returning for her third Fall into Fine Craft, steps into the Artisan Spotlight, today.

Haag-Elaine2

What about  your medium drew you to it initially and what’s kept you working at it?

I distinctly remember the first handmade felted item I saw in a yarn shop in Southport, N.C. over ten years ago. It was a knitted and fulled handbag.   The fibers and texture drew me in and they continue to fascinate me. I began designing and creating fulled handbags and while doing research about fibers, I ran across a photograph of a beautiful Nuno felt silk scarf.   I was fortunate to find an artist in Maryland who taught me the basics of the Nuno felting process. I have been Nuno felting for over four years and continue to learn with each piece I make. The thrill and the mystery of “will this really work” and “I wonder what will happen if I do this” keeps my love of the art fresh and also the desire to keep creating.

Haag-Elaine4

If you had to choose a medium, other than your current one, what would you like to try and why?

I have always had a secret desire to paint. I had an uncle who was an artist and he did beautiful oil paintings, several of which are hanging in our home. Of course, for me, it would have to abstract because unlike my uncle, my drawing skills are minimal.

What are you most looking forward to at FIFC?

I look forward to talking to people attending the show and also with the other artists. Except for the company of our Labradoodle, Bogey, I spend a lot of time alone in my home studio. My husband also comes down to visit and gives me much appreciated support. It will be refreshing to be out of my usual setting and be around people.

Haag-Elaine5

We know you’ll enjoy meeting Elaine and seeing, firsthand, the beautiful color and drape of her nuno felted creations. It’ll look good on you!

Haag-Elaine1

Follow Elaine on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Elaine-Haag-Designs-382112018562298/timeline/ and learn more about her and her work at http://www.elainehaagdesigns.com/

Leave a Reply

