Fall into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Meaghan Troup

We welcome another new guest exhibitor to Fall into Fine Craft and to the Artisan Spotlight – painter Meaghan Troup.

Troup-Meaghan7

What about your medium drew you to it initially and what’s kept you working at it?

What drew me to oils was the vibrancy of their color, buttery consistency and the ability to work with the paint over time. What has kept me working with the oils is that they are perfect for palette knife painting, impasto technique, and allow me to layer paint on the canvas creating a heightened sense of depth.

Troup-Meaghan6    Troup-Meaghan4

If you had to choose a medium, other than your current one, what would you like to try and why?

If I had to choose a medium other than my current one, I would like to try encaustic painting. I love the textural layers that can be achieved with this medium, and also the translucent hues that can create beautiful effects on a variety of painting surfaces.

What are you most looking forward to at FIFC?

I am most looking forward to exhibiting my work to a new audience at FIFC. This is the first time I have had the opportunity to participate in this show, and I am very excited to see where it leads.

Troup-Meaghan8

 

Leave a Reply

