FALL INTO FINE CRAFT ARTISAN SPOTLIGHT – CLARE MARGARET

margaret 4b

Clare Margaret designs and creates beautiful works of fine art for your walls and fine stationery for your most important writings.

margaret 1

I started working with the x-acto knife many moons ago, as a display & design artist for exhibitions & then as a silkscreen printer, where I hand cut all of my designs for textile & paper. This is where I learnt to simplify my images & cut out – with the knife – what I thought was un-necessary.

My designs always started with paper – which I love everything about – so when I found myself starting life part 2, I went with that love and now I work exclusively in paper.

 Clare begins her work with a drawing, which she then cuts out – “from black paper 99% of the time” – with her knife. She then “let’s them sit for a while,” to determine whether or not she wants to add color or let the work stand as a black and white piece. When she elects to add color, it can get quite complex. Many times, Clare will hand paint a backing color to create stunning variations that only come from her creative mind and talented hand. Other times, she painstakingly cuts and adds colors, piece at a time, to the tiny areas she’s cut from the black paper design.

margaret 7   margaret 6

It can take ages – really ages – and a lot of patience. In my next life I’ll be a surgeon – maybe.

margaret 3

Clare’s style is unmistakably her own and undeniably wonderful. It presents a lovely, mysterious, and joyful alternate natural world – one that flourishes in the mind of the artist and is shared beautifully with us by her work. We know you will be amazed by her charming, fresh, gorgeous take on the art of paper cutting.

margaret 2

Clare will be at Fall Into Fine Craft with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar today!  You can see Clare’s work at https://www.facebook.com/ClareMargaret717?ref=br_tf  and on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC-Events-Page-Graphic

Leave a Reply

