Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – David Welsh

David Welsh began woodburning many years ago, and, after growing some gourds in his back yard, he wondered whether he could woodburn on them. He visited a craft show, where he saw other work with gourds and got some ideas for his own take on the technique.

Welsh1

We asked David to describe his technique. “I buy my gourds from a local Amish farmer. They are cleaned and the insides are stained and sealed. Then I woodburn the designs, mostly leaves, on the surface of the gourd. I use a transparent stain to color them, so the texture of the gourd shows through. Some of my gourds are cut and shaped with grape vine handles attached to form pitchers and kettles. The leaf designs are my favorite because I love the outdoors. My golden retriever Casey helps with finding the leaves and grape vines.” David’s leaf designs and gourd pieces with handles are different from the traditional gourd crafts.

Welsh3

David tells us, “My art has become a way for me to include my grandchildren and family in my craft. My kids help with shows and my grandchildren like to help with painting some of the simpler designs.” We enjoy hearing how our members share their love of fine craft with others, especially the youngest among us. Lucky grandkids!

Welsh2

David will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar today!

FIFC Button 2

One response to “Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – David Welsh

  1. David and many other fine artisans will make Fall Into Fine Craft a superior craft show experience. I remember when his work won the people’s choice award at the PA Guild Holiday show in Lancaster a few years ago – he beat a lot of other fine state juried artists. We’re lucky he’s exhibiting with us.

Leave a Reply

