Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Richelle Dourte

Metalledwith’s Richelle Dourte is a self-avowed DIY-er in almost every area of her life, so when she was thinking about a gift idea to celebrate the women in her wedding party, she knew she wanted to make something – botanical jewelry. “I’ve always collected little leaves; who knew this idea would grow?” A friend of Richelle’s, whom she describes as “a brilliant silversmith,” gave her a lesson on how to use a saw and hold a torch. After that, she studied her craft by reading and studying books and taking an occasional workshop or class.

Dourte3

When my hands are busy and I don’t need to focus, I daydream. I figure (and hope) that most people daydream. When the topic at hand is not my most recent social interaction (and subsequent analysis), and it’s not thinking about how to jam this event between these two, or pondering the garden and what tastes I can get out of it, I am sometimes lucky enough to have left over creative space and turn objects over in my head. That’s where new ideas come from. The essential part, as in any type of idea, is making it become reality.

Dourte1

“I like that much of my work gets to say it’s made in and from Pennsylvania. What a special little part of the world we live in.” Richelle, we could not agree more.

Dourte2

Richelle will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Richelle’s work on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org, her website, http://www.metalledwith.com, and follow her on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/metalledwith.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

