Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Leslie Halaby-Moore

When we asked member Leslie Halaby-Moore how she came to be a chain maille artisan, she told us about a chance encounter at a bead show. “I was shopping at a local bead show for an unrelated project and noticed an offering to learn to make a chain maille bracelet. The bracelet was beautiful so I took the class. That was the beginning of the end, I was hooked. From there I began researching the craft and teaching myself different weaves. For the last 6 years I have been happily playing with tiny rings!”

halaby-moore3

As with many fine craftsmen, Leslie says she’s all about the process. “I buy my wire (silver, copper, aluminum, brass) in large spools and produce my own rings. This way I can control the size and quality. The wire is hand spooled on to mandrels and then saw cut. Designing is a mental effort for me. I spend days ‘doing’ a project in my head, working out the details, before sitting down to actually weave a piece. It is not uncommon for this to invade my dreams.”

halaby-moore2

The wearer of a Leslie Halaby-Moore work will enjoy wearing it for its comfort and ease and for the compliments it will garner. Chain maille is an out-of-the-ordinary medium and Leslie’s execution of it is top-notch.

halaby-moore1

Leslie will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Leslie’s work on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

