Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Jim Whetstone

Jim Whetstone started to teach himself to work with wood in the summer of 1966 when he was allowed to work independently in his local high school wood shop. Since then, Jim’s grown from being a casual maker of items for friends and family to creating and selling fine work and making larger custom pieces for discerning collectors in 16 states and Canada.

Whetstone2

“I love wood, always have. I love to cut it, smell it, sand it, finish it,” explains Jim. “My motivation: I guess the process of seeing the grain stand out when the finish is applied: the process of seeing this natural beauty. I’m also motivated by the anticipation of seeing my design become a reality: seeing how what I designed actually looks. I’m constantly thrilled when I work with wood because every piece is different, every grain different and even though I have over 60 different kinds of wood in my shop I know that the world has thousands of colors and grains that I have not seen or worked with.”

Whetstone3

Here’s how Jim describes his creative process. “I design my own work. I balance colors, lines, symmetry, sizes, shapes. I love basic shapes and not a lot of line movement. Let the wood do the talking!

Whetstone1

Jim will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Jim’s work http://www.capturedmoments.cc and on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

