Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Clare Miller

Clare Miller creates her beautiful art panels by carving very textural images of nature onto the of reclaimed wooden panels from old doors, kitchen cabinet doors and antique shutters, transforming them into decorative and unique works.

Clare Miller3

“As a middle school art teacher, art and inspiring others to be artists is pretty much a part of my life. I work in many mediums but wood is my love. I carved my first piece when I was 6 years old (a very primitive elephant that I still have),” says Clare. When asked about her current work, she explains, “I gather up old panels from wooden doors, cabinet doors etc. that would otherwise be considered garbage and refinish when needed. Then I carve my images onto their surface. Nature is my inspiration and in a way, I feel that I’m giving back to Mother Nature by salvaging her old wood in honor of her trees.”

Clare Miller2

Her choice of raw materials – discarded pieces of wood, previously used in construction – and her talent for finding and coaxing beauty from chipped paint layers assure that each of Clare’s works are one-of-a-kind. “The old door panels often reveal the many under layers of paint when I carve onto their surface…giving my etchings subtle color variations in the textures that I carve. I take great pride in the fact that buyers have often thanked me for being unique at the shows that I do.”

Clare Miller1

Clare loves to do commissioned work to create a piece that is meaningful especially for her client. “I enjoy creating what someone has requested and seeing the pleased look on their face when they see the piece.”

Clare will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Clare’s work at http://www.etsy.com/shop/artbyclare and on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

One response to “Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Clare Miller

  1. Very beautiful work. I would love to see this in person.

Leave a Reply

