Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Geraldo De-Souza

Geraldo De-Souza makes handcrafted, artisan quality bow ties with a unique flair.

De-Souza3

“I grew up in the family sewing business making uniforms for schools and the military in Nigeria, West Africa. At the age of seven my mother taught me how to do the finish work and I became very good at hems, buttons and pressing. I also learned how to design dresses and suits for men and women, along with traditional African clothing. I earned a degree in Architecture, on a scholarship to study in Brazil, and a Business degree from a State University in New York. After a 20-year career in the business world, I had a health scare when a tumor was discovered on my spine. Surgery was successful and recovery was a long process. It was my wife who encouraged me to start my own business designing and handcrafting bow ties and I’ve never been happier!”

De-Souza2

Geraldo works with cotton, not the usual necktie silk, because “Cotton obeys.” Geraldo likes the way cotton holds its folds and stays crisply tied for the wearer. He says it also holds up well to repeated wearings, resisting fraying and wear patterns. Another benefit is that cotton bow ties can also be dressed up or down – this means it can be worn with a favorite shirt or a tuxedo.

De-Souza1

When we asked about his chosen art form – bowties, Geraldo replied, “My goal with my designs is for a stranger to approach a person wearing one of my bow ties to offer a compliment – these are random acts of kindness that fosters positive experiences throughout the day. It’s amazing what a bow tie can do to bring people together!”

Geraldo will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Geraldo’s work on his website, http://www.everydaybowties.com/.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

