Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Cathleen Repholtz

Cathleen Repholtz began throwing pottery as an elective while earning her B.S. in Mathematics from Dickinson College in Carlisle, PA. After graduation, she took several workshops with experienced potters, then earned her MA in Ceramics from Marywood University in Dunmore, PA. Cathleen says, “I am constantly learning from other potters about the process and experience of working in clay.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cathleen’s work includes interpretations of basic functional pots, including mugs, vases, pitchers, platters, and other useful vessels. Asked about her technique, Cathleen tells us, “I throw a mid range stoneware clay body and fire to cone 6 electric, but I spray all of my glazes to create a subtle surface which is inspired by reduction and wood-fired pottery.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cathleen’s creative inspiration comes from her love of the outdoors. “As a frequent hiker and rock climber, nature has a great influence on the pots I create, which all have a subtle simplicity. I often throw larger pots in sections or cylinders, allowing me to alter them into square, oval or triangular forms which suit my aesthetic. Many of my pots have different textures from my hand-carved stamps, or other tools I’ve made, and also from organic materials that I wedge into my clay.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cathleen will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Cathleen’s work at http://www.beanspottery.com and on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

