Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Jenny Germann

Jenny Germann tells us she’s been making as long as she remembers.

“I went to school in Kansas and got my degree in fine art with an emphasis in painting. I got into wood burning very organically. My husband is a fabulous cabinet maker and he had tons of scraps lying around. (Editor’s note: watch for a profile on him, too – and see his work at Fall Into Fine Craft, too!) At first, I was just painting on them but one day decided to take a torch to them. I have been hooked on woodburning ever since.” Most of Jenny’s work now incorporates both painting and woodburning, two media she has masterfully combined.

Germann J3

Having spent a lot of time on her grandparent’s farm in Nebraska, open space, fields and natural growth influence much of what Jenny like to represent. “In my recent work, I have been mainly creating farm landscapes but am moving towards representing many of the places that speak to my heart. In the near future, I plan to start working on a few Lancaster, PA cityscapes.”

Germann J2

We asked Jenny what makes her work special and her response touched the heart of this reader. We’re sure it will touch you, too. She says, “Goodness. I suppose what makes it special is that it comes from me. I hope that people who see it feel the tenderness that I try to imbue in my representations of places I love.” Reverence for the important places of her life, finely rendered by this lovely young artist, makes this work sing to many collectors.

Germann J1

Jenny will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Jenny’s work at http://www.jennygermann.com and on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

One response to “Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Jenny Germann

Leave a Reply

