Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Barbara Tiesch

Barbara Tiesch tells us about her journey to become the fine quilter she is today. “My sewing skills, acquired in childhood, had been set aside for so long that many people – including my husband – didn’t even know I could sew. When I started making dolls several years ago, I decided a sewing machine more versatile than my 30-year-old Kenmore was in order. The shop where I found the replacement had an appealingly bright, machine embroidered flannel quilt on display, which led to one of those I’d-like-to-try-my-hand-at-that moments. The rest is history – and something of an addiction.”

Tiesch B3

Barb takes inspiration from the fabric she accumulates, without any regard for a specific project. She is especially fond of batiks and bold flannels. She likens her creative process to putting together a puzzle, whose solution is almost always a happy surprise. “All my patterns grow organically, starting with a template and the contents of my fabric stash. Consequently, the end product is rarely a conventional size, which is one of the reasons I most enjoy making small quilts.”

Tiesch B2

As most creative folks, Barbara has explored other mediums, but she says, “I find myself drawn back to the fiber arts for their visual, tactile and utilitarian appeal.”

Tiesch B1

Barbara will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! In the meantime, you can see more of Barbara’s work on the Gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org.

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

