Fall Into Fine Craft Artisan Spotlight – Dan Hayward

Dan Hayward took his first glass class over eleven years ago at the urging of his daughter after he had “retired” from a consulting career. Beginning with simple stained glass panels, Dan was soon challenged by a special request for stained glass windows for a children’s chapel. “Neither my collaborator nor I knew how we could put a frog on Noah’s Ark using traditional methods, but I was confident we could achieve the desired detail in fused glass.” So Dan journeyed to the Corning Museum of Glass for a weekend class in glass fusing. From there, it was a matter of practice, trial and error, observing and asking questions to continually refine technique.

Hayward D3

When developing stained glass patterns, “I sometimes begin with a striking piece of art glass and design around its color and pattern. Other times I start with an interesting object – a geode, cut-glass saucer, lamp prism – and play with it until I get the germ of an idea. Then I ask my wife, Cheryl, an accomplished artist with a good sense of design and color, to give me her thoughts. She pushes me to new ways of thinking about a project, and the end result is always better.” Dan likes to incorporate many varieties and textures of clear glass to highlight the colorful hand-rolled art glass which he typically uses.

Hayward D1

Dan’s fused glass art serves both as colorful conversation pieces and functional dinnerware. “Due to the whimsy of the creative process and the variety of glass available, I seldom create two items that are exactly alike. I once created a whole line of plates for my niece, each of which began with a piece of scrap from another plate”. Dan’s fused glass signature is the clear edge formed around the central design of the work.

Hayward D4

Dan will be here, with over fifty other fine artisans, so mark your calendar, today! Follow Dan on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-Hayward-Art-Glass/115020842013650 and see more of his work on the gallery page of http://www.ybcrafts.org. .

FIFC Button 2

Leave a Reply

